Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

2014-05-07 09.42.43

I’m still settling in to my new summer routine, which is why I have been absent from this space for a few days. I’m also re-thinking my “post every weekday” rule, as I will be spending most of my days on the computer, either reading papers or programming. I also haven’t managed to post every week day in any given week, so it seems silly to try to force a standard I can’t maintain. I will think on it.

My return to large amounts of reading has meant that I have picked up my vanilla socks again. I just got to the end of the cuff and have to go look up Elizabeth Zimmerman’s sewn bind off so I can get this one off the needles and cast on for the second one. The yarn is Cascade Heritage Silk Paints, and it is such a scrumptious, beautiful yarn that it doesn’t need a more complex pattern. Unfortunately they may turn out a bit small but since all my previous socks have been a touch too big I’m holding out hope that they will relax and grow a bit in the blocking.

Having finished two books from my to-read pile faster than expected, I’ve taken a break and picked up something from the library: The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde. I’m not sure where I got the recommendation for this book, but it is a fun, off-the-wall, alternate-reality book set in the 1980s. So far I’m enjoying it, although this kind of book (think sort of a Neil Gaiman style) is always unpredictable. I won’t know what I think about it until the very end!

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Lorraine says:

    The yarn looks divine.

  2. arabianknits says:

    I love that you are reading The Eyre Affair! I read that book for the first time about six years ago. There are seven books in the series now, and Fforde’s other books are also engaging.

    The Thursday Next books are better if you are familiar with western literature and children’s stories. If you know how Jane Eyre goes, you will love the twists and turns in The Eyre Affair.

Leave a Comment

