Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

 

2014-04-30 09.50.34

This poor cowl has been stuffed away in a project bag for the better part of a month, but I finally had the time/energy to dig it out this week. All it needed was the bind-off! And a little bit of math to make sure I had enough beads to finish the bind-off. This is one of those projects that uses up almost every scrap of yarn (from a single skein, no less), and also used up almost every bead I had leftover from another shawl. In fact, the only beads left at the end were the misshapen ones:

2014-04-30 09.50.59

It warms my little coldsheeping heart when that happens!  I still need to weave ends and block the thing, but for now I’m happy it is done.

Inspired by my review of my goal list yesterday, I dug out another book off the ‘to-read’ pile and dived right in. It is The Simple Dollar by Trent Hamm, and it is all about getting your finances under control and spending money on only what you love or need. I read his blog regularly a few years ago until it started to get a bit repetitive. I bought the book back then but never actually read it! Or if I did, I’ve forgotten because it all seems new to me now. It is excellent timing as I’m facing a mostly income-less summer as I start work on my thesis, so this is a good opportunity to take stock of my spending.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Lorraine says:

    The cowl is looking divine. I love the colour and the beadwork, it would be nice to see it on.

    • Jess says:

      Thanks! I haven’t actually tried in on yet, it is a little warm for the spring weather. I should probably put it on at least once before packing it away until next winter@=!

  2. What a pretty cowl, especially with the bling!

Leave a Comment

