Thursdays are for Quilting

Every Thursday I post about a non-knitting project I have been working on this week.  It could be quilting, embroidery, spinning, or whatever new craft has struck my fancy!

2014-04-24 13.25.53

The black cotton is FINALLY all cut up into strips!  I could dance I’m so happy.  It has been an excellent procrastination project but the numbers were just too ridiculous….over 80 strips 1/5″ wide!  And that doesn’t count the other strips, and cutting up the strips into smaller pieces.  There was quite a bit left over, at least half a yard, but I supposed black cotton should come in handy sometime.

After a little happy dance, I moved right on to the next part of this quilt…more cutting.  At least this time the fabric is colourful!

2014-04-24 14.08.27

 

I only have half of the batik fabric that I will need for the final quilt.  I’m going to have to look for more greens and yellows to balance out the blues.  My plan is to only use batiks that are pure colour, no patterns of any kind, although so far my choices have been limited. The brightness of the colour has been a welcome relief from the never ending black fabric, and from the just-barely-green outdoors.  The pink and green in particular when laid next to each other just gave me so much joy!  I actually managed to cut about half the batik fabric before forcing myself to get back to work, so hopefully by next week I will actually be sewing again.  It will certainly make for more interesting blog posts than slowly growing piles of black fabric strips!

This entry was posted in Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

