Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

2014-04-23 18.39.28

 

As I mentioned at the end of my post yesterday, I spent Easter weekend knitting up the first few swatches for the TKGA Master in Hand Knitting Level 1 program (I started the program back in January).  Pictured are my seed stitch, garter and stockinette swatches.  I may have to re-knit the seed stitch swatch as the gauge seems a bit loose.  Part of the reason it took me almost four months to start these swatches is that I had to buy yarn for them since the yarn requirements for the swatches are fairly specific.  With my “no buying yarn” rule for the first four months of 2014, this presented a bit of a problem.  I basically broke my rule to buy the yarn!  I did wait until my “yarn bank” (one third of all yarn I knit) was more than equal to the yardage of the one skein I bought.  When that skein is done I may consider buying another, or I may wait.  It depends on whether I’m sick of swatching or not.

I’m almost finished The Art of Non-Conformity.  It is still a challenging book to read (in terms of ideas, not writing style – it is written in a very approachable manner), but it is definitely making me think deeply about my own assumptions and the way I live my life.  There are enough bits of useful ideas or inspiration to make it worth the read, although I don’t think it will be worth a re-read so it probably won’t make it to my bookshelf.  I don’t have a ton of storage space so the bookshelf is reserved for books that I will definitely read again or want for future reference.  Still, I’m glad to finally be moving forward on my goal to get through my to-read pile, especially since it keeps on growing!

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

