Yarn Along

Every Wednesday I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week. Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

 

20140416_095757

 

My Fichu is in time-out; I finished the centre square and started the border lace, and then realized I was going to run out of yarn way before then end of the border.  Since this yarn is handspun from Peru, there really is no way to get more, and it would be very hard to find something to co-ordinate.  I suspect my yardage calculation was way off.  So I’m going to block it and see if it grows a lot, because otherwise it is too small to be anything and I will have to rip it out and start over with a different pattern.

Instead, I cast on a Wingspan with some Lang Jawoll Magic that purports to be sock yarn.  It is a single yarn though, so I doubt it would make good socks.  It is perfect for this pattern, which is all garter stitch and short rows, the perfect antidote to frustrating lace.  The colours are very bright and stand out nicely against the odd stripe of white or grey.  They are helping me get through the rash of rain and cold we have been having recently.  True spring cannot come soon enough.

I’m back on the horse when it comes to decluttering, and first up from my giant to-read pile is the Art of Non-Conformity by Chris Guillebeau.  It is a little bit too “buck the trend” for my tastes, but I’m going to power through.  Its good to read something that challenges your beliefs once in a while, and this is certainly doing that for me.  I hope that finishing this book (and it is nice and short so it shouldn’t be much trouble) will give me the motivation to get through the rest of my to-read pile as soon as possible.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Emma says:

    Great yarn choice for a wingspan. I made one last year, I really enjoyed making it. It’s such a simple pattern but the end result is stunning. Look forward to seeing yours.

  2. Emily says:

    Oh, what happy spring/sky colors! That will look fab!

Leave a Comment

