Yarn Along

Every week I participate in “Yarn Along”, a link-up run by Ginny over at Small Things where we share what we are knitting and reading this week.  Head over to the Small Things blog to see what other bloggers are sharing!

2014-03-19 10.32.51-1

I finally finished the body on my re-knit of the Castle pullover this week.  You can really see the line between the blocked half and the unblocked half in the lace (I blocked it on the needles to try it on once I got past the armholes).  The sweater is quite warm, and I have a whole skein left over, so I decided to try extending the sleeves to just above the elbow.  I’m not sure a toasty capped sleeve sweater will be all that wearable.  At the rate I’m going, I will have this nice warm winter sweater finished…just in time for spring.  If spring ever comes, that is.

As if I didn’t have enough crafts to fill my meagre spare time with, I recently picked up Tonia Todman’s Candlewicking Book from the library.  I was inspired by Hilary Rice, who came to the last meeting of the Ottawa Valley Quilter’s Guild.  One of her first quilted pieces was a wall hanging with a centre block of candlewicking embroidery.  My grandmother had a bed covering made of candlewicking and I always love the look of it as well as the texture.  This one piece in Hilary’s presentation prompted me to check out the only book on candlewicking in the Ottawa Public Library.  Perhaps it will be a new project I can attempt this summer.  It certainly looks more suited to warm weather than knitting!

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Shara says:

    This is beautiful!

  2. Tina says:

    Love your sweater!

  3. Pingback: Yarn Along | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

