Yarn Along

2014-03-12 10.34.26

I am in a bit of an in-between state in mine knitting at the moment.  The Castle pullover and Fichu are still ongoing, but they are both too big to lug about in my backpack or purse at this point.  They are strictly couch-knitting, and there hasn’t been a lot of that this week. I finished the first of the Leyburn socks this weekend, which freed up those needles to knit a couple little booties for a baby-on-the-way.  Those were super quick (pictures to come when I finish sewing them up and get some buttons), and now my sock needles are sadly empty.  I could cast on the second Leyburn sock, but what I really want to do is cast on a vanilla sock in some leftover Cascade Heritage Silk I have.  Since I knit for enjoyment, I’m putting Leyburn to the side for now….or I will when I actually get the chance to cast on with the Cascade.  Any day now.

Living in Ottawa for the last six months or so has made me want to get my French language skills up to scratch again.  Canada is supposed to be an entirely bilingual country, but Ottawa is clearly implementing that concept much more thoroughly than the GTA.  Of course, it helps that Quebec is right across the river.  I became roughly bilingual in French and English through my elementary school education and from living in Switzerland for a few years with my family, but I haven’t had occasion to use it much in the last few years.  I don’t have a lot of time to spend on it at the moment, and I’m too shy to speak French on a regular basis so for now I’ve been reading Jules Verne’s Le Tour du Monde en 80 Jours (aka Around the World in 80 Days) for the last month or so.  Every night before bed I read a chapter out loud to myself, and the difference in my pronunciation and comprehension has been dramatic.  Or at least I think it has, I haven’t tried it on anyone else yet!  The story is entertaining and the chapters are short enough that reading one aloud per night is not too much of a strain.  Once I finish the book I’ll have to find some other way to practice, but for now this is working well for me.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

