Yarn Along

2014-01-29 22.11.33

 

I realised early this week that all of my knitting was winter-coloured: there was the pale blue mohair cowl, the white hats for Halos of Hope and the giant brown Fichu.  All three are much too wintry to get me through February.  And Stephanie and Amanda both agree: February is a time for colour!  So in response, I cast on this lovely (mostly) green yarn I bought at the Royal Agricultural Winter Fair in Toronto a couple of years ago.  Please excuse the dark picture, this is what happens in winter…especially when you blog at 10pm. The yarn is actually a much brighter green in person.  The sock pattern is Leyburn, another YarnHarlot favourite that has been in my queue for some time now.  It is interesting to see how it affects this variegated yarn.

In my attempt to make my way through the giant pile of books I got from the library (it’s like a buffet, I’m helpless), I picked up Kushiel’s Dart last night.  It is an “alternate world” type of fantasy novel, with a lot of strange, French-inspired terms and considerable world-building.  I haven’t decided whether I like it or not yet, so I’m sticking with it for now.  I’m sure I’ll have more to say when I’ve read more than the first few chapters!

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

