Yarn Along

2014-01-15 10.22.57

Ah, the beginning of a new term.  So much to do and so little time.  Add on some unusual volunteer time commitments and the prospect of bringing home a new furry friend (more details when it actually occurs!) and you have some serious radio silence in blogland.  Fear not!  The blog will continue, it just may be somewhat more erratic than it already has been.

On to this week’s Yarn Along: inspired to cast on some “precious” yarn from some of the activity in the Stash and Burn group over on Ravelry, I finally cast-on Anne Elliot’s Fichu.  This is a large laceweight shawl from one of the Jane Austen Knits magazines that I fell in love with immediately.  However, I didn’t think I had enough laceweight in my stash to make this beauty until I estimated the yardage in this huge skein of handspun (probably spindle-spun) that I bought at The Center for Traditional Textiles of Cusco (site is in Spanish) in Peru during my epic backpacking trip of 2012.  The skein came with the name of the spinner (Rojo Huayta Florentina) and where it was spun (Pitumarca, just south of Cusco).  I’m not a huge fan of the undyed alpaca colour, but I don’t feel confident enough to dye it and I do like that it is undyed in principle.  So far, the knitting up is a dream; the yarn is soft, a little thick-and-thin, and still has lots of lanolin (or whatever the alpaca equivalent of lanolin is).  There is quite a bit of vegetable matter still, but that just adds to the “rustic” charm.  It will be interesting to see how the contrast between rustic yarn and fine lace shawl knits up.  Given that I bought the pattern on the European half of my backpacking trip this shawl feels like a very symbolic way to tie the two halves of the trip together.

The book is Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman.  It was lent to me by a friend more than a year ago and is my first book off the giant “to-read” pile that I want to get through in this new year.  So far I’m enjoying it, although sometimes Gaiman’s humour is a bit beyond me.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Tina says:

    Lovely knitting and a great pattern 🙂

  2. Pingback: Conquer Lingering Tasks | One Stitch, One Step

Leave a Comment

