Yarn Along

2013-11-27 11.02.20

I’m still working on the plain socks that showed up in my very first post.  They are a basic stockinette sock worked on 60 stitches, with a spiral toe that I got from the Netherfield pattern and a standard short row heel.  You will note that the purple that is so obvious in the ball is now also clearly evident in the sock.  Still not sure how I was supposed to predict that ball would lead to this sock; just another one of the mysteries of knitting, I guess.

I am most of the way through The Design of Everyday Things by Donald Norman.  Its very interesting, and it is helping me understand some of the terms that have been used in my classes the last few months.  It was written in the late 80s, so some of the technology references are a little out-of-date, but that doesn’t detract from the book’s message at all.  Norman focusses on everyday objects like doors and faucets, which haven’t changed much in the last 25-30 years.

The other book is When Bad Things Happen to Good Knitters, which I heard about at Rhinebeck back in October.  It is more of a reference book than a book you want to read cover to cover (as I am doing).  It would definitely be helpful to have on hand if you are a new knitter or if you want help fixing or finishing your knitting projects.

Head on over to the Small Things blog by clicking the icon below if you want to check out the other Yarn Alongs going on this week.

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Donna says:

    What nice socks! I have never done toe up socks before. I think I may want to give that a try.

    • Jess says:

      Hi Donna! Toe-up is great if you are not sure you will have enough yarn, since you can just knit until you run out. Or if you aren’t sure how big they need to be, since you can just keep increasing until they are the right size. The heel options seem to be a bit more limited though. I’m sure why I did these toe-up, but they are working out fine anyway!

  2. CathieJ says:

    I am going to keep that book in mind as I am a fairly novice knitter who likes to know how to fix mistakes.

Leave a Comment

