Inaugural Yarn Along

One of the things that I love about blogs is that I can connect with people all over the world with lives and beliefs very different to my own, as long as we have at least one thing in common.  Often that one thing is knitting.  The “Yarn Along” comes from Ginny and her blog Small Things: every Wednesday she posts a picture of what she is knitting and what she is reading at the time, and then a bunch of her readers post links to their knitting&reading in the comments.  I’ve been reading her blog for awhile but I’ve never participated before in my sadly blog-less (and Flickr-less) state.  That is about to change!

Et voilà, my very first Yarn Along:

yarn along 1

In previous years I have left the Christmas knitting until it actually feels like Christmas, but this is a fools game.  To get anything done in time for the decorating, you’ve got to start early.  Luckily I don’t have a lot planned, so I didn’t have to work this all out back in July, but I did start earlier this month.  I’m knitting as many little Christmas Balls (from the beautiful book 55 Christmas Balls to Knit) until I run out of stamina, time, yarn or some combination thereof.  So far I have knit the ball “Dancing Around The Tree” and I’m working on “Christmas Package”.

As for the book, it is the Design of Everyday Things by Donald Norman.  I’ve only just started it, but the basic premise is that all those times when you felt stupid because you couldn’t figure out how to open a door or work a microwave or navigate a website (it can’t just be me, right?!?), it was not your fault.  Blame the design.  Same goes for all those accidents that are caused by “human error”; they are really caused by designs that didn’t take into account the inevitable mistakes that humans make.  As a student of Human-Computer Interaction, I find the whole concept fascinating, and I’ve only read the introduction!

Part of my goal with this blog is to post every weekday for as long as I can, and I was struggling to figure out what to write about today until I checked my feed reader and saw Ginny’s Yarn Along post.  So thanks Ginny, it was absolutely perfect timing!

This entry was posted in Yarn-Along. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

